Life · Whole30

#Whole30 bound!

After seeing a friend talk about finishing the Whole30 program on Facebook, I decided to give it a further look. It’s a paleo-inspired, 30-day food detox, of sorts. It sounds hella difficult but one of my goals this year is to get healthy. I know it’s practically May, but better late than never, no? Husband is on board and we are 100% committed to getting through this, feeling better, looking better and being healthy role models for our son.

W9 Manifesto-for-FB-Cover NEW

I’m reading the book, It Starts With Food, and their explanation about how all of these processed, carby, sugary, grainy, and legumey foods affect our brain is crazysauce! There is now no doubt in my head that food affects our brain just like drugs and alcohol, gambling, sex and the myriad of other addictive things in the world. We are truly addicted to the food, and that means we will truly go through a detox process, and it will not be fun. Whole30 has a timeline on what you can expect, and I groaned while reading  it. The firs few weeks sound painful, and they will be. I am not looking forward to the headaches, that will only be exacerbated by giving up coffee. I am not a black coffee drinker, and since there is no dairy or sweeteners allowed,  I am screwed. I am sorely going to miss coffee, so much so that I may try a black cup here and there. I doubt I’ll enjoy it, but who knows!

11156373_10103863019400001_1687267609436551772_n
Our haul for week 1. thank goodness for farmers markets!

I plan to blog every day about my day’s progress, how I’m feeling, what I ate, etc. It’s going to be a journey, and I am hoping at the end that I have more energy, fewer headaches, less pain in my neck and wrist, and sleep more soundly. OH, and I hope I lose some weight/inches. Seriously. Weight loss is the big reason I am doing it, but I want to sustain it, and lose more, and have energy to work out, and be able to run around with my growing, rambunctious, full of ALL THE ENERGY son. I am also hoping to change my lifestyle when it comes to food and exercise.

11050258_10103863218031941_3912952277738545769_n
Yummy egg muffins with homemade sausage, spinach, broccoli and tomato!

I’m ready.

ash-sign (1)

 

Leave a Reply

