Whole30

#Whole30: Day 1

doing-the-w30-IG

And we’re off!

Day 1 is apparently not supposed to be so bad. You’re excited and dedicated and all that jazz. I am nervous about how I will feel the next week or 2. According to the Whole30 timeline, it’s going to get worse before it gets better.

7:30 AM – Breakfast was great and I felt satiated. Apparently, breakfast sausages usually have off limit ingredients, so I made my own breakfast sausage, with this recipe as a guide. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and it turned out so delicious! I used some of the sausage to make egg muffins, and will make patties with the rest.

I am so elated that I can keep coffee in the picture! I am not a black coffee drinker so I was a bit concerned about cutting it out. Not that I need the caffeine boost (I haven’t felt the effects of caffeine since high school), but I just like my coffee! I tried a compliant ingredient, coconut cream, and was pleasantly surprised. It is definitely not the same as half and half sweetener, but I like the zing of coconut flavor and it helped mellow out the coffee a bit. Yay!

20150427_072210_resized_1

10 AM – I’m noticeably hungry, so I drank more water and had a clementine.

11 AM – Another clementine and more water…definitely looking forward to lunch!

12:15 PM – LUNCH TIME. Yessssssss. T made some slow cooker pork yesterday, and I added it to a mason jar salad (I love those!) of green lettuce, spinach, celery fronds, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado, toasted cashews and homemade avocado lime dressing. It was sooooooooooooo yummy. I also ate the egg, which I wanted to save. I need to watch my egg intake. I know they have high cholesterol. One article said max 3 a day…

20150427_121517_resized 20150427_121805_resized

1PM – I’m feeling a little sleepy right now…

1:30 PM – Good heavens. A student came in with a grief issue and right after that, a student relayed info that warranted a child abuse report. Talk about a moment for emotional overeating, but guess what, I’M FINE. *fist pump*

2:30 PM – GRAPES! What an afternoon.

I had half an avocado when I got home while I fed G the other half. We are some avocado lovers! I also had 2 strawberries.

5:45 PM – Dinner is ready early because we used the slow cooker. A to the Men! Slow cooked whole chicken with root veggies (red potato, parsnip, carrot). It was juicy and filling.

7:30 PM – I had a few zucchini chips that I made from this recipe. They are really yummy. Some of them  crisped up, others I put too much olive oil on. Otherwise, they are darn tasty!

Thoughts: It’s obvious my voracious appetite is still present. I am praying that detoxing off this junk helps in that department. I feel fine otherwise. Day 2 and 3 are typically crap days. Oh joy!

ash-sign (1)

Leave a Reply

