Parenting

This post is going to be hard to write…

but I’m going to do it, for my own sanity and for many others who want to speak up but are overwhelmed by feelings of shame, guilt and grief.

I had a miscarriage.

There. I said it. It’s out in the universe.

A few weeks ago I learned I was pregnant. I had my well woman exam and told them I was 1 day late with my cycle. This was no big deal and I was certainly not getting my hopes up. They decided to do a pregnancy test, and sure enough, it was positive. Faint, but positive. There were lots of congratulations and I walked out of there like a deer in headlights. I told Todd and my mom that night by showing them the prenatal vitamin bottle and telling them I needed to get some more. I think they were just as shocked as I. We were all expecting it to be difficult again. This time, it was going to be difficult in an entirely different way.

5 days later, I woke up in the middle of the night with serious gastrointestinal issues. And then I saw the blood. It was faint at first, so I didn’t freak because spotting happens. The next time I was in the bathroom, I noticed it was heavier, and it proceeded that way through the night. I knew instinctively what was happening. When I finally woke up to the alarm, I ran to the bathroom. It wasn’t all a dream. In fact, it was a terrible nightmare. I told Todd I was bleeding, and he shot out of bed. I called my midwife’s office and told them what was happening. They said it sounded pretty textbook miscarriage, to take care of myself physically and emotionally, and to take a pregnancy test a week after the last day of bleeding. That will be this Saturday. A negative will confirm that my hormones are back in sync. A positive will send me up the river, because that could mean procedures that I don’t want to deal with. And it will just prolong it. I want to move on.

I called into work that day, and Todd also called in because he was sick, as well. I moped around the house through my discomfort, and stared into space. I went to a training the next day because I knew it was better than sitting around thinking about it. When I saw tissue in the toilet, it took all of my mental strength to return to the training smiling. I got through that day just fine, but I was certainly not my normal, happy self. I was quite subdued and didn’t come out of my shell much.

Last week sucked, to put it mildly. I know I only knew about the pregnancy for 5 days, but even 5 seconds would have been enough to bring the pain. I wish I would have never told them to go ahead with the pregnancy test. A late period would have been far less distressing. It was very early in the pregnancy, and that helps me feel better about the baby’s suffering. I know this shit happens for a reason. I am 36 so my eggs might not be in the best shape. The body sometimes aborts the fetus because of abnormalities, or there are other reasons.

Gage wasn’t meant to meet this sibling. Todd and I weren’t meant to parent him/her. It wasn’t meant to be.

The upside to this experience is that Todd and I got pregnant naturally! We had such trouble with Gage, and finally had to seek professional help. This time around, it happened about 6 months into trying. I am holding on tightly to this thought because it is helping me handle this emotionally. There will be a next time, and I will try not to hold my breath the entire pregnancy. Once this happens to a woman, I don’t think there is anything you can do to lessen the anxiety going into a new pregnancy. There are women in my family and close friends who have experienced miscarriages, and some much farther along or more physically scary.

Society doesn’t want to talk about this occurrence. It’s very uncomfortable. For someone who doesn’t have a lot of experience with grief, I’ve never known how to talk to my loved ones about this topic. I just try to listen and be a positive, reassuring person in their life. I want women to feel empowered to talk about this issue that plagues so many of us.

Tell your story. Don’t go through this alone.

-Ash

14 thoughts on “This post is going to be hard to write…

  1. I’m so sorry. I know that really doesn’t help or make you feel better, but I am. I got pregnant about 3 years ago, and 2 weeks later had an ectopic miscarriage. I knew it wasn’t meant to be, but it was hard for quite some time after. And I know that when I do get pregnant again, I’ll be thinking of what happened before.

    I wish you all the best. Take care of yourself and take it easy.

    Like

  2. OMG, THE FEELS!
    I want to cry right now because I love you and you’re my friend and you’re too far for me to squish-huggle and because I know exactly how you feel. Before my own miscarriage, I had friends who had experienced it and just as you said, you try to be kind, supportive and compassionate but you can’t truly sympathize with the devastation until, if & when, it happens to you.

    Phil and I had tried for a year when we finally got pregnant and at 8 weeks, when you go in for your first ultrasound, it was discovered that there was no heartbeat. We tried to hold on to hope, no matter how tenuous, and then a week later the doc told us that we needed to do a D&C because there was bleeding in the sac which meant it was starting to decay. Two weeks later, the hospital called to notify me that the “specimen was normal”. I have never felt so betrayed in my life, and by my own body no less. I was angry, I was resentful, I was depressed…I was an emotional mess, basically for the next 2 years.

    This past May made 5 years that we’ve been trying to conceive to no avail. I have come to accept that maybe ours is a different path!

    I agree that what is meant to be will be! As hard as it may be to for us to accept, we must trust that our bodies know what they’re doing and it will not allow an unhealthy or dangerous pregnancy to continue. For whatever reasons, this one was not the one but as you said, you conceived naturally and that’s a great sign! It’s likely that the next time you get pregnant you’ll be a nervous wreck for 9 months but that’s completely understandable – I would be, too. Allow yourself to feel the things you need to feel but always return to your family & to hope because that’s what gets us through the darkness ♥

    XOXOXOX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hate that people i love have experienced this, as well as infertility. It’s am ugly truth about women’s health that we need to be more verbal about. I love you to pieces, Isa, and wish you and Phil so much happiness. xoxo

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear this. And I’m so glad you told your story, because so many women keep this pain to themselves. I had a miscarriage in 2012, when my oldest was 3. It was perfect timing, to me, to have another baby! But it wasn’t meant to be. I had my miscarriage around the same time along that you did; only about 6 weeks pregnant. But it was still a devastating loss. And, like you, I knew right away what was going on. It was very hard for me after that, to decide if I wanted to try again, to go through that pain again. But then last year, we decided to try again. And throughout that pregnancy I was constantly checking the toilet paper, praying for no blood. It was so stressful, but so worth it. But don’t let anyone else tell you what to do now. You need time to hurt, time to grieve, time to heal. And if you decide to try again, that’s YOUR business, not anyone else’s. And if you decide NOT to try again, that’s your business, too. Whatever is right for YOU. Sending huge hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

